Thetford Select Board Meeting



June 17, 2002

Present: Sara Ferguson, Mark McMahon, Paul Raymond, Mary Spata

Agenda: Road Problems

Junk Cars

Trash Disposal


Recreation Committee

Police Commitee

Post Mills Land

Review Minutes

Meeting called to order at 6:32 p.m.

Lawrence Reeves came in to talk about potholes on Sawnee Bean Road. Selectboard will work with road crew to get work done as soon as possible. Overtime has been approved for the road crew, some of whom will work on Fridays.

Ms. Ferguson will prepare a letter to send to several landowners about junk cars on their property. The letter will require that steps be taken to remove cars within sixty days.

Mr. Raymond will talk to Ralph at All-Waste about a possible trash removal contract.

Ms. Ferguson has talked to Robert Harrington, Engineer, and Larry Swanson, Surveyor, about the work that they are doing to prepare a design for the new recycling center. They will talk to each other, and then Mr. Swanson will present a proposal to the Town. There was brief discussion of the likelihood that a special Town Meeting will be necessary in order to raise the money for the work that will need to be done to develop the new recycling site.

There will be a meeting of the Recreation Commmittee on June 26th at 5:30 p.m. at the Latham Library.

The Police Committee came in at 7:05, at which time the select board went into executive session to discuss personnel matters. Rick Barrows arrived at 7:10.

The Board came out of executive session at 8:00.

The select board voted (moved by Raymond, seconded by Ferguson) unanimously to offer the position of Chief of Police to Philip Call.

The Board is waiting to hear back from the Vermont Attorney General about whether the Town would be accepting liability for future water quality issues if the 100-acre land parcel in Post Mills is accepted by the Town.

Minutes of June 3 meeting approved with changes(Spata/Raymond).

Minutes of June 10 meeting approved with changes (Raymond/Barrows).

Meeting adjourned (Barrows/Ferguson) at 10:17 p.m.

Minutes submitted by Sara Ferguson.

Last Modified 07/2002 by Bill Weyrick