Thetford Select Board Meeting


August 25, 2003

**The meeting of 8/18/03 was cancelled due to lack of quorum**

**There will be no meeting on 9/1/03 due to Labor Day holiday**

Present: Paul Raymond, Mary Spata, Sara Ferguson, Mark McMahon,

Marilyn Cook (clerk)

Guests: Lonna Lalonde, Rik Fowle; Allison Rogers, Reporter for Connecticut Valley Spectator

Meeting called to order at 6:32 pm.

Lonna Lalonde requested assistance from the Selectboard to address her neighbor's failure to correct problems with a new driveway that runs along her property line; the driveway is eroding onto her property, which is located on Five Corners Rd. The driveway is also eroding onto the road. Although the town is unable to address the issue of the private property, Mark McMahon will take a look at it. The owner is obligated to repair the town road to the Road Commissioner's satisfaction.

Rick Barrows joined the meeting at 6:45 pm.

Ms. Lalonde left the meeting at 6:47 pm.

Mark McMahon reported on the health status of Frank Thurston, Road Commissioner.

Mr. McMahon reported on the work of the road crew and the contractors. The road crew is working on Sawnee Bean, Barker Rd and Gove Hill in preparation for the beginning of school. Mr. McMahon is working closely with the road crew in Mr. Thurston's absence.

Agenda items for this meeting were reviewed.

Review of Minutes:

The minutes of 7/21/03 were approved as amended, with abstention by Paul Raymond, who was absent at that meeting (Ferguson/Barrows).

The minutes of 7/28/03 were approved as amended, with abstention by Rick Barrows and Mr. McMahon, who were absent. (Ferguson/Raymond).

The minutes of 8/4/03 were approved as amended, with abstention by Sara Ferguson and Mr. McMahon, who were absent (Barrows/Raymond).

The minutes of 8/11/03 were approved as amended, with abstention by Ms Ferguson and Mr. Barrows, who were absent (Raymond/McMahon)

The minutes of 8/13/03 were approved as amended, with abstention by Ms. Ferguson and Mr. Barrows, who were absent (Raymond/McMahon).

Lynne Miller joined the meeting at 7:20 pm.

Ms. Miller reviewed the upcoming edition of the Thetford Newsletter with the Selectboard.

Ms. Miller made a recommendation that the town offer an adult-oriented French course to residents. The board encouraged her to discuss her interest with the School Board or Thetford Academy.

Ms. Miller left the meeting at 7:40 pm.

Appointments to the school research committee:

The Selectboard received interest from five community members. Discussion followed about these folks' interest, the appointments already made by the School Board and Academy Trustees, and a process by which the Selectboard would make a decision.

School Board appointments are: Polly Cole, Todd Moses and Joe Malpino (representative for the School Board)

Academy appointments are: Frank Barker, Bill Weyrick and Judy Vaughn (representative for the Academy Trustees)

The Selectboard expressed their interest and made an effort to make their decisions by consensus, but used a majority vote process.

Motion to appoint Gene Kadish and Heinz Trebitz to the school research committee (Barrows/McMahon). Discussion. Motion was defeated. In favor- McMahon and Barrows; Opposed- Ferguson; Abstained- Raymond and Spata.

Motion to appoint Gene Kadish and Chuck Cole to the school research committee (Ferguson/Spata). Discussion. Motion was defeated. In favor- Ferguson; Opposed- McMahon, Barrow, Spata; Abstained- Raymond

Motion to appoint Gene Kadish to the school research committee (Barrows/Ferguson) Motion passed, unanimously.

Motion to appoint Heinz Trebitz to the school research committee (Spata/Barrows) Motion passed. In favor- Spata, Barrows, McMahon; Opposed- Raymond, Ferguson.

Selectboard appointments are: Gene Kadish, Heinz Trebitz and Rick Barrows (representative of the Selectboard).

Rik Fowle left the meeting at 9:10 pm.

At 8:15 pm, Gail Paige, Treasurer for the Thetford Fire Department, joined the meeting.

The Fire Dept has not received two quarterly town appropriations checks; Ms. Paige is interested in a plan to correct this problem. The Selectboard and Ms. Paige agreed that Ms. Paige will send invoices to Martha Howard, Treasurer.

Ms. Paige left the meeting at 8:17 pm.

Tracy Borst, Town Clerk joined the meeting at 8:30 pm.

The Selectboard thanked Ms. Borst for her involvement with staff's attendance at the Treasure Island beach party.

The Selectboard would like to thank Ann and Scott O'Hearn for organizing the party.

Building project was discussed, including logistics of the temporary move of all town office personnel into the new space and the key schedule. The Selectboard will be looking to volunteers to help move office equipment (mid-Sept)

There will be a Board of Abatement meeting on 8/26 at 7 pm. Ms. Feguson, Mr. Raymond and Mr. McMahon will attend.

Ms. Borst and Ms. Spata arranged for a meeting of town hall staff to discuss the town hall renovations.

Ms. Borst left the meeting at 8:50 pm.

100 Acres in Post Mills: The transfer of this state-owned property to the town is pending an official survey. Mr. McMahon meets 8/26 with a potential surveyor.

Recycling: The French's are willing to renew the lease for the recycling center. The zoning meeting will be held on 8/26. Ms. Ferguson plans to reconvene meetings of the recycling committee.


Thetford Fire Dept. has requested volunteer assistance at the Labor Day Parade. Mr. McMahon will respond to the request.

Tree service work is taking place in Post Mills.

Selectboard will advertise in paper for a temporary highway department laborer.

Motion to go into executive session at 9:30pm for discussion of title 1, section 313, part IV. (Barrows/Ferguson) Unanimous.

Marilyn Cook and Allison Rogers left the meeting at 9:30 pm.

Motion to end Executive Session at 10:25 pm (Spata/Barrows) unanimous.

Moved that the Selectboard censure Paul Raymond for the personal use of Town highway equipment, and the Board will consider whether further action is necessary. The Board also requests a written apology to the residents of Thetford from Mr. Raymond. (Barrows/McMahon) unanimous.

10:30 meeting adjourned (Spata/Ferguson), unanimous.

Last Modified 10/2003 by Bill Weyrick