Thetford Select Board Meeting


September 15, 2003


Present: Mary Spata, Rick Barrows, Mark McMahon

Marilyn Cook (clerk)


Guests: David Fisk; Melissa Sevigne; Ellis Paige; Tim Gibbs, Road Crew; Scott O'Hearn, Treasure Island

Transfer of 100 acres in Post Mills- property lines are being delineated in next two weeks by Bill Lyons of Norwich.

Motion to go into executive session with Tim Gibbs at 6:50 pm (McMahon/Spata) unanimous

Sara Ferguson arrived at 7:15pm and joined the executive session.

Motion to end executive session at 7:40 pm (Spata/Barrows) unanimous.

Scott O'Hearn and Ellis Paige joined the meeting when executive session ended

Motion to appoint Tim Gibbs as Acting Road Foreman (McMahon/Spata) unanimous.

Mr. O'Hearn presented proposals for a roofing job at Treasure Island residence and discussed other needed repairs. Sara Ferguson will look at the roof on 9/16 and Mr. O'Hearn will call Rodd Roofers for information. He will return to the next meeting, and a decision about the work will be made.

Tracy Borst, Town Clerk joined the meeting at 8:10 pm to talk about the move to the new space on 9/27 at 8 am. Approximately 15 volunteers are being recruited. Rick Barrows will look into using the Thetford Center Community Association Building for Selectboard meetings. Staff and Selectboard are looking at the configuration of phone and computer lines to meet the needs of everyone in the new town office. Currently there are six lines going to various offices. There is a question about if that need can be reduced to five once the computers are on a networked system and if all of the phone lines go through the town clerk's office.

Motion to contract with Scott Sablan to evaluate a telephone and computer network system in the town hall. (McMahon/Barrows) Unanimous

Ms. Borst left the meeting at 8:30 pm.

The Federal Emergency Management (FEMA) has released disaster money to the state of VT in the amounts of $200,000 to the town and $100,000 to private property owners. Meetings with property owners will take place over the next 30 days to determine distribution of funds.

Mr. Paige left the meeting at 9:00 pm.

Thetford Town Newsletters cannot be left at Post Offices. They are located at stores, libraries and the town hall.

The recycling committee will meet in October to make final recommendations following their investigations of various options for the recycling center.

The Planning Board approved the temporary use permit for the current recycling center.



September 15, 2003

Ms. Ferguson prepared a letter to the Thetford Academy Board of Trustees, inquiring about a piece of land owned by The Academy; the town may be interested in this property as a permanent site for the recycling center.

Rick Barrows reported on the meetings of the Secondary School Options Committee who have met twice. Members have had an opportunity to share personal perspectives. They have also begun a review of information provided by F.Y.I. and Thetford Academy.

The minutes of 9/8/03 were approved as amended (McMahon/Ferguson) Unanimous.

The minutes of 8/25 were approved as amended (Ferguson/McMahon) Unanimous.

The minutes of 8/28 were approved as amended (Ferguson/Barrows) Unanimous.


An overweight permit request by Murdo Limlaw was signed.

Correspondence was received from Rick Fowle and Jim Fowle.

A request for appropriations for 2004 from Visiting Nurses Alliance of VT and NH. Mark McMahon will respond.

The Selectboard has been approached by the Thetford Center Community Association with a request to apply through CVPS to place American flags on nine poles in Thetford Center on nine different occasions. The Selectboard desires comments from the community.

Jim Fowle sent a letter of appreciation of the traffic calming measures taken adjacent to the common on Thetford Hill and requests consideration of other areas of concern.

Motion to approve a driveway permit to Robert Mousley and Sara Eastman on Rte. 132 in Thetford Center (Spata/Ferguson) Unanimous.

Motion to enter executive session at 10:00 pm to discuss Selectboard member's conduct (McMahon/Barrows) unanimous.

Marilyn Cook left the meeting at 10 pm.

Motion to exit executive session at 10:25 p.m (Spata/Barrows) Unanimous.

Motion to adjourn at 10:30 p.m. (Spata/Ferguson) Unanimous.

Last Modified 10/2003 by Bill Weyrick