Thetford Select Board Meeting


February 14, 2005


PRESENT: Mary Spata, Mike Brown, Mark McMahon, Marilyn Cook (clerk)


GUESTS: Dave Turner, John Bacon, Janet Murnane- Attorney representing Town of Thetford, Chris Gulick and Ken Gulick, Allison Rogers- Reporter for Connecticut Valley Spectator


AGENDA: Police Concern- Chris and Ken Gulick; Review Warned Articles; Review Minutes; New Business


Prior to the start of the meeting the Gulicks spoke with Mary Spata and Mike Brown regarding a citation, issued by Thetford Police, for not containing manure on their tractor while traveling on the road. While the ticket was overturned in court, the Gulicks wanted to express their concerns to the selectboard. Ken Gulick also gave feedback to the proposed town plan, encouraging the town to include in the process, representation of long-time Thetford farmers.


The Gulicks and Allison Rogers left before the meeting started.


Meeting called to order at 7:45 pm.

Motion to enter Executive Session at 7:45 pm for discussion with Town Attorney, Janet Murnane, regarding pending litigation. (Spata/McMahon) Unanimous.


Executive session ended at 8:00 pm.


Attorney Murnane left the meeting at 8:00 pm.


Tracy Borst, Town Clerk, joined the meeting at 8:00 pm.


A resident has requested the selectboard consider changing the name of Poor Farm Road South to avoid confusion with Poor Farm Road North. The resident should petition the board.


Selectboard Chair, Mark McMahon, signed Excess Weight Permits for:

Thomson Timber Harvesting and Trucking, LLC.

Northwoods Excavating Inc.

Valley Crane Services, Inc.


Ms. Borst left the meeting at 8:10 pm.


Ms. Spata and Mr. Brown updated Mr. McMahon on their conversation with the Gulicks.


Mr. McMahon read correspondence from Paul Raymond, who has withdrawn his name from the ballot as a three-year candidate for selectboard, as well as resigned his position as selectboard member, effective immediately.

Motion to approve Check Warrant Reports:

#4.1 (general) $1,422.47

#5.1 (general) $44,494.40

#3.2 (highway) $7,973.48

#4.2 (highway) $3,690.75

#2.4 (payroll) $12,320.68 (Brown/Spata) Unanimous


Selectboard reviewed the current pay period time sheets.


Joe Tofel, Town Moderator, joined the meeting at 8:25 pm.




February 14, 2005



Since Truck #2 has recently sustained a blown rear end and continues to have problems with the tail sander, Mr. McMahon asks the selectboard to consider making an emergency purchase of a replacement truck. Doug Stone, Road Foreman, has researched options and Mr. McMahon reviewed with the selectboard.


Motion to authorize Road Foreman to order new Freightliner truck, as an emergency purchase, to replace truck #2. (Spata/Brown) Unanimous.


Selectboard thanks the following people for their assistance in producing and distributing the town reports:

Town Clerk and Town Treasurer's office/staff, Karin Bonnett, Donna McMahon, Rachel Borst, and Sarah Schindler


Dave Turner expressed concerns with the road conditions on roads that are not part of bus routes, especially at intersections. He shared concerns with the operation of one of the plows and has observed frozen culverts recently. Mr. McMahon noted that the selectboard and road crew are open to suggestions for different ways to deal with roads. He will talk to road foreman about Mr. Turner's concerns.


Mary Spata will make arrangements with CVPS to restore the streetlight across the road from Bakers Store in Post Mills.


Warned Articles were reviewed:

Introduction of articles were assigned to selectboard members.


Mr. Tofel questioned the intent of Article 18, "Shall the town elect to adopt or amend the town municipal plan by Australian Ballot." Selectboard member introducing this article will explain the article at town meeting.


In the future, Mr. Tofel suggests combining articles concerning monetary contributions.


Mr. Tofel left the meeting at 8:55 pm.


Motion to approve driveway permits for:

Robert and Patricia Blake on Cadwell Rd.

Jeffrey and Darlene Gautreau on Godfrey Rd. (Brown/Spata) Unanimous.


Motion to adjourn at 9:00 pm. (Spata/Brown) Unanimous.

Last Modified 8/2005 by Bill Weyrick