Thetford Select Board Meeting

Thetford Selectboard Minutes

June 27, 2005


Present: Mary Spata, Doug Stone, John Bacon

Guests: Ann Fenton, Chuck Eaton- W. Fairlee Selectboard Member


Agenda: W Fairlee Selectboard-discussion of Cross Rd; Town Plan Review; Town Clerk; Fire Department-Don Fifield; Minutes Review; Police Chief; Unfinished Business


Meeting called to order at 7:00 pm by Mary Spata.


Andrea Welch- resident of W. Fairlee arrived at 7:05 pm.


West Fairlee Rd- discussion with W. Fairlee selectboard member, Chuck Eaton and residents, Ann Fenton and Andrea Welch, who have concerns about the traffic and speed on that road. W. Fairlee selectboard requests assistance by Thetford Police Department with enforcement of speed. A resident inquired about ditch material to place along the road as a walking path.


Wayne Parks joined the meeting at 7:20 pm.


Chuck Eaton, Ann Fenton, Andrea Welch left the meeting at 7:25 pm.


David Fisk, Jennifer Davey, Liora Alschuler, Sandra Miller, Ruth Dwyer, and Tom Kent joined the meeting at 7:25 pm. Ann Fenton rejoined the meeting at 7:30 pm. Ken Gulick, Roberta Howard, Melissa Howard, Stuart Blood, Heinz Trebitz, and Lori and Rick Howard joined the meeting at 7:35 pm.

Selectboard noted that Stuart Blood submitted a letter to the selectboard regarding the town plan.


Town Plan Review:


Mary Spata stated that she is prepared to return the plan to the planning commission with grammatical corrections and content changes.


The July 11 meeting will be used as a working session for selectboard to review their individual comments to the town plan.


The floor was opened to public comment regarding the process.


Residents left at 8:05 pm. Ms. Fenton remained.


Tracy Borst, Town Clerk, joined the meeting at 8:05 pm.


Reviewed draft town newsletter


Motion to enter Executive Session at 8:15 pm to discuss personnel (Bacon/Spata) Unanimous


Marilyn Cook and Ann Fenton left the meeting at 8:15 pm.


Motion to end Executive Session at 8:30 pm (Spata/Stone) Unanimous


Motion to give assistant town clerk a $.50 raise (Bacon/Stone) Unanimous


Marilyn Cook rejoined the meeting. Tracy Borst left the meeting.


Volunteer Fire Department members Don Fifield, Jeff Sirjane and Mariah Capurso joined meeting at 8:35 pm.


Thetford Selectboard Minutes

June 27, 2005


Fire Department requests monthly meeting with selectboard.

Concerns raised:

" Road maintenance

" The Mill- Specific concerns of the fire department are connection of electricity to the building in the event of a fire and security of building/trespassing, which increases the risk of a fire. Selectboard agreed to contact property owner regarding this problem.

" Town of Thetford needs to put an Emergency Plan in place. Some of this work has already been done.


Fire Department will meet with the selectboard on the 4th Monday of each month.


Mark McMahon joined the meeting at 8:45 pm.

Mr. Fifield, Mr. Sirjane and Ms. Capurso left the meeting at 8:50 pm.

Police Chief, Joseph Anthony, joined the meeting at 8:55 pm.


Motion to enter Executive Session at 9:00 pm to discuss personnel. (Spata/Bacon) Unanimous.


Marilyn Cook left at 9:00 pm.


Motion to end Executive Session at 9:55 pm. (McMahon/Bacon) Unanimous.


9:55 pm Chief Anthony left meeting.


Motion to approve check warrants:

12.4 payroll $9,297.15

12.3 special funds $6,318.59

22.1 general $64,961.07

19.2 general $1,974.09 (Stone/Bacon) unanimous


Motion to adjourn at 10:45 p.m. (Stone/Bacon) Unanimous.

Last Modified 8/2005 by Bill Weyrick